My Mastermind Group and Baseball

mastermind3.jpg

Andy called at noon on Wednesday, “I’m in town and I’ve got four baseball tickets. Can you go to a day game tomorrow?” A miracle happened. Everyone in our mastermind group could make it.

This is my third mastermind group. Like the first, we are all professional speakers. The first group had 7 members and , we shared our fears, ranted about difficult clients and celebrated our victories for 7 years. It was an opportunity to get a different slant on anything from marketing materials, to speech topics, to how to leave a spouse without getting shot. Then one member moved to California, another went back to school and we moved on.

The next group lasted about an hour and a half and was a disaster. We had different occupations, some didn’t speak and it fell apart pretty quickly.

My second group fell apart last summer when my business was in its first slump in 14 years. I was scared, miserable and not a happy girl. I knew that three guys in our National Speakers Association chapter had a group, so I asked to be included. Fate smiled and I got in.

We are a rather unusual group. I am the only bit of estrogen in a sea of testosterone. Scott Ginsberg is in his twenties, Andy Masters is in his thirties, Steve Hughes is in his forties and I am in my fifties. We meet once a month for 3-4 hours and go over marketing, book production, surviving the road etc. We all speak on different topics and have very different points of view. I am blogging thanks to Scott. He is the ultimate blogmeister. I worship at his keyboard.

Since joining my new mastermind group, my business is totally back on track and I’ll have the best year in Board Builders history.

When I’m on the road and something wonderful or awful happens, I have my buds to share it with. And sometimes, I can actually help someone else.

And best of all, we can have fun together and after only 15 years, I’m back at the ballpark. Don’t ask me who we were playing, but I know that I won.

Carol Weisman, MSW, CSP, Baseball Enthusiast & Masterminder

1 Comment »

  1. You don’t really need or want that lifestyle, it might hurt y’all slowly more…….Just tell him you
    don’t wanna repeat something your not too proud of z7uas.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

