On Being a Mentor and Having a Mentor

Karyn and GregI got off to a very rocky start with my mentor Karyn Buxman. When I joined the National Speaker’s Association 14 years ago, Karyn was assigned to be my mentor. I e-mailed her. I heard nothing back. I called her. Again silence. I wrote her. No word. Finally, I called the head of the program and I said, here’s the deal, I have no feelings about this woman, I’ve never met her. I don’t know her. I need help. If she doesn’t have the time, get me someone else. He got hold of Karyn. She called me and we met. Karyn’s Mother had big time health problems. Karyn was traveling like a mad woman. We agreed that she would mentor me and she would get back to me within 48 hours when I needed help. It was the beginning of a kick-ass friendship. Knowing that I would need publishing help down the road, she was considerate enough to fall in love with and marry Greg Godek who now also mentors me. Now that is a seriously considerate mentor!

I have a big challenge right now trying to decide how many books to publish with the NY Times, Parade Magazine and Scholastic Parent articles about to burst on the scene in November and December. Greg has been helping me decide whether to turn my book Raising Charitable Children over to a major publisher or a friend of his who is a distributor. God bless having smart friends.

Meanwhile, I have been mentoring an emerging speaker. I met her while work with a battered women’s shelter. She is a board member of the shelter. She has a powerful story to tell. We’ve worked together to craft her story. The first time she told it to the board, she got a standing ovation. The first time I got a standing O, I’d been speaking for three years! Karyn used to tell me “You’ve done well little grasshopper.” My little grasshopper has wings. She gave me permission to share this e-mail with you:

“As you know I haven’t done much in the way of my desire to do public speaking.  A few weeks back I was in San Francisco and one day I was touring the city by myself.  Seeking some “me” time, I sought out a church I knew had a labyrinth.  As I strolled through the church I came upon a side chapel that had a podium with the Bible on it.  Approaching, I realized the Bible was opened to my most favorite passage from the Book of Ecclesiastes, Everything Has Its Time.  As I stood there with my hands resting on the podium a lump formed in my throat and tears in my eyes.  I felt I was finally “at home”.  Soon I was filled with great internal peace and a strong voice within that said “YES…this is it!  Getting a message out to others is what I am supposed to do!”  For years my question to God has been “What do you want me to do with all of “this” — all the experiences you continue to bring before me?”  I continue to receive individual pieces of the puzzle but I can’t seem to put it all together.  I have visions of what I believe will be, but I don’t quite know how to put it all together.  As I stood there and read the passage I found comfort in the words….For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven….

I am so glad to have you in my life….you are truly an inspiration.”

If you don’t have a mentor, get one. If you aren’t mentoring someone, offer.

Carol Weisman, MSW, CSP, Mentor, Mentee

3 Comments »

  1. Reuben said

    You mean Greg Godek is not married to Tracy anymore? Did she die or did they get a divorce?

    • Greg and Tracy Godek have been divorced for years. She is remarried and has a child.

  2. They are divorced and Tracy is happily remarried and has a new baby.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

